News from Derbyshire Dales District Council

Councillors voted unanimously at their Annual Meeting on Thursday (24 May) for current deputy Paul Wilson, 48, to take over the top job at the council from Dorcas Bunton, who is retiring after six years at the helm.

Mr Wilson, who has been at the Derbyshire Dales council in several roles since 1994, started his career in local government straight from school as a trainee.

He said: “One of the things I am quite proud about is that from humble beginnings and a starting point not dissimilar to the apprentices of today I have climbed the career ladder by studying part-time for all my qualifications. Hopefully, my example may inspire others to achieve their own goals and potential.”

Graduating in 1995 with Degree of Master Civic Design from the University of Liverpool, Mr Wilson became a Chartered Town Planner the following year and in 2000 gained a Diploma in Management Studies from the Open University. He was appointed the council’s Planning Policy Manager in 1997 and then Head of Planning Services in 2000 before becoming Director of Planning and Housing Services in 2011.

The full report to the meeting can be viewed on the District Council’s website at and the broadcast of the meeting can be viewed on the District Council’s YouTube channel at

Hathersage and Eyam ward member Councillor Jean Monks is Derbyshire Dales District Council’s civic leader in the coming year.

A district councillor since 2011, she succeeds Councillor Steve Flitter as Chairman of the District of the Derbyshire Dales, and will represent the district at well over 50 engagements in the county in 2018/19.

Councillor Monks, who accepted the civic post at the District Council’s annual meeting on Thursday (24 May), told fellow councillors she would endeavour to be a worthy ambassador and representative of the Dales.

She will also be continuing with the Community Service Awards resurrected by Councillor Flitter in 2017/18. Praising her predecessor’s fundraising efforts, Councillor Monks added: “Councillor Flitter with his wife Ann raised enormous amounts for the Air Ambulance Service and attended over 70 events plus 17 Community Award presentations – a wonderful record.”

Other appointments for 2018/19 included Councillor Albert Catt as chairman of the new Commercial Board, Councillor Jacquie Stevens continuing as chairman of the District Council’s Governance & Resources policy committee, and Councillor Jo Wild as Chairman of the Community & Environment policy committee. The Planning Committee will continue to be chaired by Councillor Garry Purdy.

Councillor Sir Richard Fitzherbert is once again Council Chairman, leading full meetings of the authority, and Deputy Chairman is Councillor Andrew Shirley.